Brief History

The World Glaucoma Association (WGA), formerly constituted as the Association of International Glaucoma Societies (AIGS), was founded as an independent, impartial, ethical, global organization for glaucoma science and care.

The first intercontinental cooperation of Glaucoma Societies started in the early nineties, when the American Glaucoma Society and the Japanese Glaucoma Society joined the European Glaucoma Society as supporters of International Glaucoma Review (IGR).

In 2001 Robert Weinreb and Erik Greve developed the idea to create a Global Association of Glaucoma Societies, starting with thirteen Glaucoma Societies involved in IGR. Roger Hitchings joined immediately. This triumvirate started to realize a dream, with the essential aspect to unite all parties involved in glaucoma: Glaucoma Societies, Glaucoma Industries and Glaucoma Patient Organizations.

After extensive preparations in 2001, WGA officially started its activities on January 1, 2002. The first board of Governors consisted of Roger Hitchings (UK), Robert Weinreb (US), Erik Greve (NL), Yoshi Kitazawa (JP) and Remo Susanna (BR).


WGA Executive Office
Schipluidenlaan 4
1062 HE Amsterdam
The Netherlands
+31 20 570 96 00

World Glaucoma Association
Follow WGA on Facebook
Follow WGA on Twitter

World Glaucoma Congress

My profile

International Glaucoma Review

World Glaucoma Week