Wall of Fame

At every World Glaucoma Congress, we recognize and honor those who have significantly contributed to the success and positive development of the World Glaucoma Association, as well as the recipients of the ICO-World Glaucoma Association Three Month Fellowship Award.


  • Founders Award – Robert Fechtner
  • Special Recognition Award – David Friedman
  • Special Recognition Award – Peng Khaw
  • Special Recognition Award – Olusola Olawoye
  • Special Recognition Award – Ki Ho Park
  • Special Recognition Award – Norbert Pfeiffer
  • Special Recognition Award – Tarek Shaarawy
  • Fellowship Award – Bigirimana Deus
  • Fellowship Award – Mohamed Elamin Abdelmoneim Elamin Mohamed
  • Fellowship Award – Jagun Omodele Oluwayemisi
  • Fellowship Award – Lemlem Tamrat
  • Fellowship Award – Faith Vata Masila


  • Laureate Award – Roger Alan Hitchings
  • Founders Award – Jeffrey M. Liebmann
  • Special Recognition Award – Subhabrata Chakrabarti
  • Special Recognition Award – Jonathan G. Crowston
  • Special Recognition Award – Chandra Sekhar Garudadri
  • Fellowship Award – Farouk Garba
  • Fellowship Award – Philip Phatudi
  • Fellowship Award – Martin Tchouyo


  • Founders Award – Franz Grehn
  • Special Recognition Award – Simon Bakker
  • Special Recognition Award – Dennis Lam
  • Special Recognition Award – George Lambrou
  • Special Recognition Award – Carlo Traverso


  • Founders Award – Makoto Araie
  • Founders Award – Kuldev Singh
  • Special Recognition Award – Jian Ge
  • Special Recognition Award – Daniel E. Grigera
  • Special Recognition Award – Robert Ritch
  • Special Recognition Award – Mariska van der Veen


  • Founders Award – Ivan Goldberg
  • Founders Award – Remo Susanna


  • Founders Award – Erik Greve
  • Founders Award – Roger Alan Hitchings
  • Founders Award – Robert N. Weinreb

About the Awards

The World Glaucoma Association Laureate Award is the highest honor that the Association can bestow. A WGA Laureate has an immense, unique and rare impact on our field through selfless leadership, scientific contribution, education and mentorship and advancement of the WGA goals.

The World Glaucoma Association Founders Award is for an individual with a dedication to advancing the goals of the WGA, whose efforts have contributed significantly to our mission.

The World Glaucoma Association Special Recognition Award is for an individual who has made extraordinary contributions to the WGA organization over a span of several years.

A WGA Award recipient has been nominated by the WGA Executive Committee and presented for approval to the WGA Board of Governors.


WGA Executive Office
Schipluidenlaan 4
1062 HE Amsterdam
The Netherlands
+31 20 570 96 00

World Glaucoma Association
Follow WGA on Facebook
Follow WGA on Twitter

World Glaucoma Congress

My profile

International Glaucoma Review

World Glaucoma Week